Far better than “like”

I have liked, like-liked, sort-a-liked, used to liked, and regularly utter “what’s not to like” when describing to others one particular friend of mine. We have all endured the temptation to press the “like” button when we have seen or read something that touches us in some way. I even have had a few friends tell me that they yearn for the “un-like” button to be added to posts and comments. Really?

I recently came across an old letter from a friend who I had helped out of a jam many years ago. An odd sequence of semi catastrophes had sent them and their family into a temporary nose dive financially. It took a only moment to recall why I had kept that letter and upon reading it again some 20 years later, I discovered something once again about the significance of our needing to show more appreciation and true gratitude.

There on those few pages were the most sincere words I had read in quite sometime. My heart sank a bit as I recalled that the tears having stained the paper we mine and not of the author. I had been blessed in a very special way by their giving thanks for what at the time was only a few hundred dollars. What I found mixed amongst the thank you’s and the accolades of my kind gesture was that my gift had allowed that family to feed themselves for an entire month while they got back on their feet and found new direction.

My point of course is to inspire us all to show more appreciation than to just simply “like” something we have received from friends who we care for, talk with or share in common interests or passions. To take the time and conjure up some sort of sincerity that clearly represents our heart-felt appreciation for favors, words of encouragement, a helping hand, to talk at length and understand, or simply give of our time to someone who needs our attention and understanding.

I was nearly overwhelmed by a desire to contact my old friends just to see how they were doing. Having lost touch long ago, it took a little time and effort on my part to locate an address and phone number. When the call was connected, I felt a silence on the other end that worried me at first, then the sobbing ensued from their delight in my desire to check in to see how things were going was all too clear. They were fine, happy, healthy and lived not too far away.

What I learned from what was originally the need to clean out some old boxes ended up making my entire week. I was taken back to a time when I gave some friends in need a little money to help them through for a time, but what made an even more intense impression on me was that letter and the emotional words of true thankfulness.

“Cultivate the habit of being grateful for every good thing that comes to you, and to give thanks continuously. And because all things have contributed to your advancement, you should include all things in your gratitude.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

The intense desire to say thank you, to communicate a feeling of appreciation, to make a special effort to connect with our inner yearning to give had once again instilled something wondrous inside of me. I was inspired to give thanks for all that I had, and it was a warm and delicious feeling indeed.

I had someone very dear to me recently awaken something special inside me to do far more than simply like life. I was given a fresh understanding of our many reasons to reawaken our passion for living, ignite feelings of pure gratitude and the need to give came over me. I had all at once been allowed to feel a lost feeling that only love can provide, so for that , I thank you, from the bottom of my heart, I thank you.

8 thoughts on “Far better than “like”

  1. Alright, you got me – I might have shed a tear or two. I’ve got a soft spot in my heart for people like you who are willing to help their friends in need. I’m also extremely touched by the heartfelt thanks given back to you.

    Thank you for reminding us to put more effort into the relationships that are meaningful to us. I am guilty of ‘liking’ too many things, hoping it counts as ‘engagement’, when what I really need to do is pause and be mindfully present with my gratitude & appreciation. Thank you!

    1. Thank you Janet – I am learning more and more about the power of gratitude and appreciation. It is changing my life for the better, hence I have been inspired to blog about it. Very kind words indeed, thank you. Edward

    1. Thanks Oscar – I was so impressed by this letter and had actually forgotten about these friends and my giving to them when they truly needed it. It was good to reconnect and it reassured in me that mankind can change the course of history with their kindness and their gratitude. Edw.

  2. This is such a beautiful post and comes at a time in my life when I feel particularly inspired by the generosity of “framily.” Small acts of kindness go so far. Your words made me tear up a little, and that’s not easy these days. Thank you for sharing your story.

    1. A heart felt thank you Wendy – I am new at this, but am finding that a personal blog and being accepted in a 30 blog-a-thin with friends has reignited my desire to write. The very best to you and your “framily”. Edward

Leave a Reply

