Information, Your Attitude and Your Health

While on a quest for better information to increase our knowledge of ourselves, our health, our happiness and our well-being there are so many resources of data, news updates and expert opinion that we must learn to filter through to the truth in any way that we can.

“To keep the body in good health is a duty… otherwise we shall not be able to keep our mind strong and clear.” ~ Buddha

My focus is wholly on my health as of late, increasing my energy levels, getting lean, building muscle and attracting like minded people into my life.  As I stand in front of the mirror today, I am thinner than I have been in many years possibly ever, my clothes are fitting loosely, I have more energy than ever and I have even been known to walk with confident swagger when in the company of beautiful women.

Having adopted a new diet several months ago that eliminated many I no longer see as healthy and some things I thought were healthy or “normal” in the consumption of foods and beverages.  Many of these I had assumed or been told were actually healthy only to find out through my reading and research, were unhealthy or even damaging to my body. A little increased self-control and self-discipline, I began to see and feel the benefits of eating whole, raw, natural, organic, lean and especially unprocessed foods. The Paleo Diet was working and it was working very well…

“The way you think, the way you behave, the way you eat, can influence your life by 30 to 50 years.” ~ Deepak Chopra

What I began to discover was that being an overweight male in my late fifties, there were actually foods that had been touted as healthy which were actually leading me down the road to pre diabetes and eventually a shorter life span. This was unacceptable for there is so much to live for, so much to learn and so very much to see and feel. The hormones and additives included in the processed and packaged foods I used to buy, inspired me me to actually take the time and actually read the ingredients and make sense of those big words (or additives) that were not only very long, but impossible to pronounce.

In addition, I was learning more about how our blood sugar levels (insulin levels) and how our body uses this information to make the important decision of how and when to store fat. If you are consuming foods high in sugar or high carbs, you are actually telling your body to store fat and that is not healthy for a productive, positive and fit life style.

I was also learning more that the number of meals we should eat, their size, frequency and time of the day we consume them made a huge difference in my goals to become a lean, mean, fighting machine as well.  As an example, I no longer consume a heavy dinner (even one based in proteins and vegetables) after 6:00 in the evening and I have almost completely eliminated alcohol and desserts as well.

“Physical fitness is not only one of the most important keys to a healthy body, it is the basis of dynamic and creative intellectual activity.”  ~ John F. Kennedy

It’s all about ratios of high and low carbs and proteins, you can actually retain certain foods that you love by balancing them with proteins better, by eating fewer calories per meal and increasing the number of times per day that you eat. You can create a fat burning machine and when added to weight lifting and stretching I am seeing and feeling the benefits in a big way.

When I began to examine the true nature of so-called “comfort foods” I understood better how we can become addicted to breads, pastas and the fallacy of whole grains.  A better understanding now of how we can confuse our bodies into actually craving foods that contain “high carbs” and this coming from a man who absolutely loved cinnamon rolls.  Some carbohydrates such as cakes, pies and pizza do not necessarily need to be completely eliminated, a more acceptable method for many to accept is to better combine these high carbs with meals that also include proteins can soften the effects of high card foods.  No luck on the cinnamon rolls though, you are better off just doing without or having on a rare blue moon if you have to.

“Only the united beat of sex and heart together can create ecstasy.” ~ Anais Nin

Even getting down to the nitty gritty about erectile dysfunction which affects a large number of men my age, I discovered that not only is your problem 90% mental, but there are several unhealthy habits that contribute largely to your being unable to enjoy yourself fully.

Smoking tobacco, drinking heavily or too often, and being lazy or sedentary are all habits to kick to the curb if you want to really make a difference in your life naturally. Can you think of a better reason to change your lifestyle, improve your beliefs about love and romance, ignite your life and your passion, understand what masculinity truly means via an inspiration to get healthy?

“The best doctor gives the least medicines.”  ~ Benjamin Franklin

So, go see a doctor, ask questions, be candid and open, change your lifestyle or even enlist the guidance of a hypnotherapist like I did before you get a prescription for pills do not treat the underlying reason for your issues.  You will be amazed…

Here I stand today a better man, a leaner man and as I ready myself to enjoy a vigorous walk and possibly a wandering stroll on the later this afternoon, my smile is large indeed.  On this beautiful morning, I am getting healthy and I am feeling happy.

May you all have similar experiences in good health and great information.  Keep reading!

Leave a Reply

