out from under mediocrity

My appreciation for, understanding of and passionate craving for my new direction, amazing friendships, a loving relationships, to write every single day and a quest to improve my health have all jumped several levels of importance through the experiences in and interaction with social media and meeting new, amazing people.

The opportunity to connect with people around the world who have a desire to engage in similar passions and interests is truly amazing. I have recently connected with people I would have never met in face to face situations and we now share instant messages, best wishes and conversations about life, love and our dreams. I even have a new friend from Bulgaria of all places, we discuss blogging, life past forty, getting our thoughts down on paper and filling the early morning hours helping her with the written English language.

I have worked for large and small companies, start-ups, corporations and even limited partnerships and my view and gradual acceptance of working for myself is becoming more a reality. The fact that it’s a 24/7 business, that it consumes my every thought matters little for the progression of personal gain and accomplishment cannot be measured.

“Entrepreneurs and their small enterprises are responsible for almost all the economic growth in the United States. “ ~ Ronald Reagan

It is a powerful enough sensation and feeling of freedom that I am recommending highly it to my children in hopes that they will also see that entrepreneurship is as valid as any other profession that drives college students to complete higher education and obtain degrees.

The first hurdle after I have completed the acceptance of longing for what I can do for the world, will naturally be that of obtaining a reasonable income for my efforts. What has been quite amazing in this quest provides deep appreciation for all that can be and for some odd reason brings with it a needs & wants list that is actually quite short.

“A work-in-progress generates its own energy field. You, the artist or entrepreneur, are pouring love into the work; you are suffusing it with passion and intention and hope.”Steven Pressfield

Food, shelter, internet access, more time with friends, a rare meal out, comfortable shoes, a movie rental, a nice Pinot under $10 seem so much more important, now more than ever. If I would have only known that the journey of self discovery in finding something I am truly passionate about could be so much fun! My favorite reminder when I have broken free for a moment, my appreciation reminder is “seductive learning opportunity.” Makes it easier to stay involved and connected… Oh, yea, one more thing on the limited but crucial needs list, a black or yellow Labrador named Harley II.

So, what I am doing more now than ever before is actually quite seductive and focused only a few major goals. Meeting new people, the creation of new friendships and writing everything down, either as a blog, a book, notes, journal, napkin scribbles or the palm of your hand (always carry a fine tipped Sharpee). All the while maintaining my trust in mankind and leaving any intentions or demands aside, and a few major discoveries have been rather eventful for me as of late too.

The pure and simple willingness to give more, to be open to assist anyone in need and to be there for those we love when they need us to simply listen, provide abundant rewards.

Discovering that fun has become more of a good-natured, re-found advancement in the willingness to laugh, love and respect more, even the comments received from friends and family are seen constructive. There is a unique transition from those close to you when you express that the word “employment” has been superseded with “entrepreneur.” Soon after they recover from your declaration, they typically agree with you only slightly and offer their mixed support. My lovely, caring and talented sister on the other hand expressed much joy and excitement for she knew that my having 3 part-time jobs while I pursue my dreams was more fun and more true to my spirit than a traditional career.

“Entrepreneurs are simply those who understand that there is little difference between obstacle and opportunity and are able to turn both to their advantage.” ~Niccolla Machiavelli

So here we go, wish me luck and rest assured that any and all advice would be greatly appreciated and I apologize in advance if I ignore it all and just jump in head first.

And so the prize – 

just add water…

3 thoughts on “out from under mediocrity

  1. Very thought provoking post Edward. Good luck on your journey and, know that we’ve got your back in support and we’re cheering. Some of us from the sidelines, some of us from the field but we are cheering. Another quote that comes to mind:
    “Entrepreneurship is living a few years like most people won’t, so that you can spend the rest of your life like most people can’t.”

Leave a Reply

