Color outside the lines

“You must write every single day of your life… You must lurk in libraries and climb the stacks like ladders to sniff books like perfumes and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads… may you be in love every day for the next 20,000 days. And out of that love, remake a world.” ~ Ray Bradbury

I am done conforming to silly, misconceived rules and I have gleefully chosen to either break or bend many examples of the right thing to do told as a child that I absolutely must adhere to. The guidelines, the recommendations, the restrictions, the nice guy way to think and do things have in one way or another prevented me from taking risks on such important topics as career, love, the pursuit of my dreams and a closer interaction with humanity.

I now choose the really big box of crayons with which to describe in full color my vivid world, you can rest assured that I’ll be going outside the lines with expression. It’s the rampant exploration of the world without limits and I am meeting others with the same sense of abandon. I have never laughed so much…

A collaboration of unbridled possibilities is truly imminent and the desire to run amok is thrilling to say the least. If I had any hair I would be letting it down right this very instant and run like the wind through life screaming at the top of my lungs.

“Physical experiences, lacking the joys of love, depend on twists and perversions of pleasure. Abnormal pleasures kill the taste for normal ones.” ~ Anais Nin

Having been inspired by so many life events over the past few months I can see more clearly that much of what I now accept as being normal, is actually abnormal and a better connection to my weirdness. I have never felt so compelled to write, share, grow, learn, laugh, dance, skip and willfully make a fool of myself ever before.

It is delicious and my hope that I am indeed contagious, bringing with me other lost souls. A group who may indeed be searching for the very same inclination, searching for a different and much more flexible itinerary to follow. The heck with the well-worn paths through the forest, let’s make our own path and discover an unmapped route to the imaginable or the unimaginable.

“Many are considered normal because they are so well-adjusted to our mode of existence, because their human voice has been silenced so early in their lives, that they do not even struggle or suffer or develop symptoms as the neurotic does.” ~ Aldous Huxley

What I now see more clearly as an explanation of a possible neurosis is in reality the benefit associated with being just a little unhinged. To walk into the dark simply knowing that we can reach a destination filled with a better and more creative influence without wavering is enticing for only a lucky few. The heck with rules, for I am of the opinion that if we stay just one step ahead of crazy and embrace our weirdness, we shall better connect with more of mankind, the more interesting ones at least.

I am at times influenced by a creative view of things which includes thinking outside the box, to keep things less in check and include as many sensory inputs as possible. To attempt an understanding of something mystical or profound that goes against our normal levels of acceptance.

If we limit our input sources, and diminish our impulses to learn, will we limit our ability to think and feel more intensely about life and all of the possibilities? I’m going to start with a little scribbling and coloring outside the lines and see where that takes me. You in?

Edward Harting is obviously a semi-unhinged soul in search of the creative mind…

5 thoughts on “Color outside the lines

  1. I wonder how much a person’s personality will have influence over such a freedom. I am one of four children to my parents and the only with the personality and business drive that I have. We are all different people and the inspiration doesn’t seem to gel with others, it may in fact disturb them a bit. I don’t think it has anything to do with society, but with what they have somehow built into their beliefs from their level of tolerance.

    1. Thank you and I do agree that the inspiration to be creative and color outside the lines is due to a combination of factors. Making the decision to get involved in a creative way is in all of us, I just think it’s a little more difficult for some to see the light and follow that path. You comments are wonderful, thank you.

Leave a Reply

