for the holiday moment…

I am more aware of and thankful for the things I have blessed with than ever before in my life.

I have chosen to give thanks daily and I am simply overwhelmed by all of the positive influence and good fortune in my life. It is a great time to be alive and I am truly happy.

“I am so thankful sometimes I smile out loud, and as hard and long as you might try you could not break my spirit.” ~ Nirrimi Joy Hakanson

Seeing all of the delirium with Black Friday, Cyber Monday, the frenzied crowds at the shopping malls and in the department stores reminds me of how fortunate I am to no longer be an impassioned consumer. I choose instead to celebrate Thanksgiving and Christmas for the special holidays that they are, as I am reminded once again with this enlightened view that these are times to be thankful, truly thankful.

“I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought; and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.” ~ G. K. Chesterton

My children are happy with the special time we spend together and the fact that they understand that their good old Dad is struggling with employment and that opportunities seem a little far and few between gives me hope. They are never the less supportive of me, and I am so very fortunate to have the family I love dearly close to me as we move into a new year.

I remember when they were young and my career had blossomed financially within my favorite industry, we used to spend thousands of dollars each Christmas making certain that all of the kids were showered with gifts both big and small. Today, they will get a hand written card expressing my love for them with a few dollars to spend how they please. I won’t hear a complaint from either of them, I assure you.

The Christmas stockings will still be filled small, silly, inexpensive gifts, a unique selection of items from the 99 cent store, some special candies and a new toothbrush. Just some of the special things that I know they will be excited about as they have received similar items from me their entire lives.

Giving of ourselves does is not measured by how much we spend, but my how much we give and how much care.

“Thou that hast given so much to me give me one thing more, a grateful heart: not thankful when it pleaseth me, as if Thy blessings had spare days, but such a heart whose pulse may be Thy praise.” ~ George Herbert

So, regardless of the tough times being felt by many, the shortness of the holiday gift funds to be spent, I for one am happy for all that I have and in doing so, I am happy to celebrate Christmas in my own special way and you can rest assured that the new year will be a tremendous one indeed.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all – Ho Ho Ho!

Leave a Reply

