In exchange for life

The UniverseThere are times when series of events or even a single chapter in life can and will test our confidence, our will and attempt to smother our internal fire. In this trial of fear versus our intuition and personal conviction we will find our strength or we may simply cower in distress.

In spite of ourselves, there are moments in life that will shape who we are and who we shall become. How we deal with these challenges is at its core all about how we were raised and allowance for a compassionate and intelligent understanding or acceptance of all life throws our way.

I am but one man in a growing movement inspired to do something important about this “agenda” and I know that we can make a difference in how we succeed and embrace happiness. I am learning all about the benefits of sharing, caring, the power of hugs and why we all need to be told we are loved, appreciated and how special we all are.

“The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved — loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves.” ~ Victor Hugo

Having become a father at the ripe old age of 39, then again at 40 and was surprised by another child at 50, my appreciation for children in my life is unique, appreciative and quite amazing indeed. I’m continually impressed by how their interaction with their parents continues to shape how they interact successfully with the world in their young lives.

I’ve lost touch with my youngest son, but that ordeal will be fuel for many other posts as I try and mend the issues involved in any way I can. Just a note to those who have had a child out of wedlock, who have moved away or you have lost touch. It’s not about money or any gift other than your time, your love, your willingness to bond and the cooperation of the parents to enrich a child’s life.

“Happiness is having a large, loving, caring, close-knit family in another city.” ~ George Burns

To understand fully that we are indeed loved is something that from a quick look around we may view the world as filled with more than a few who may have been neglected by a passion for life. I have become more open to communicating and even embracing those who I may have been a little frightened by before, I am learning my lessons in regards to humanity.

“The capacity for friendship is God’s way of apologizing for our families.” ~ Jay McInerney

An openness to forgive, to get past the emotional baggage that holds us back from who we can be is crucial for us all to be open and honest with ourselves. Compassion comes alive in us all when we are inspired to care for others without regard for anything in return. We have all been burned in one way or another, but I can assure you that since I devoted my thoughts and actions in becoming a better person, my quest to understand blossoms daily.

The fear of stepping out and experience a willingness to connect with our fellow man will limit our enjoyment of life. I for one am getting more involved and in my writing I hope to reach others who feel the same way I do and are becoming better human beings.

7 thoughts on “In exchange for life

  1. It would seem we’ve been learning similar lessons, sir. Compassion, forgiveness, tolerance, acceptance – aren’t these the virtues we ought to be striving to embody? You have a lovely way with the words, a raw vulnerability radiates from the screen. Sharing your story helps the rest of us embrace our own version of Life. Thank you.

    1. You are too kind Janet. I am indeed on a journey of understanding and this venue of scribbling my words on virtual paper has taught me more in the past few months than I can express here in so few words. Sharing is caring right? Thank you very much for your comments.

Leave a Reply

