The art of revealing yourself

A better and more clear understanding of what your “personal brand” is has become a bit of a passion of mine over the past several months. In discovering more of my true self, I am intimately perceptive of the unlimited opportunities available to us via our communication within social media and that must include an honest, detailed description of ourselves for all to see.

Anyone can start from here and make a brand new end!

brandingOur need for a “brand” or “persona” is incontestably clear when you consider how many exceptional contacts and like-minded individuals from all over the world we can meet or attract with our content, our stories, our reputation, our message and our passionate pursuits. The content you provide for all to see will in turn be a reflection of who you really are.

If you want to deliver something of value that people will flock to in droves, they must have a feeling of trust or even admiration for who you really are. Those who have or will connect to your expression of writing via a personal or professional blog can and will ferret out the posers quickly. The potential subject matter is endless and rather overwhelming when you search through topics, interests and expressions of people with something to say.

“Waking up this morning, I smile. Twenty-four brand new hours are before me. I vow to live fully in each moment and to look at all beings with eyes of compassion.” Thich Nhat Hanh

Taking a deep look at ourselves and how we are perceived by others may not matter all that much to some, but for someone who is trying to sell himself, his book, his services, his advice, his knowledgable and his stories, how we appear to the online world is extremely important.

If our intentions are to be determined on how we convey ourselves openly and honestly, there are few better avenues to stroll down today than to present a public persona that tells the world of our deepest passions. The process of gaining worldwide acceptance utilizing the internet is done most precisely and determinately via our intended journey displaying not only our online profiles, but our followers, our subscribers and our friends who may indeed give us accolades for our sincere efforts.

Respect of others is as important as you choose to make it and from what I have read of the many blogs I follow, there are some amazing people, doing some pretty amazing things and sharing their accomplishments and failures in their blogs. To share of oneself in the hope of satisfying our own need to communicate and collaborate or simply use our words to help ourselves become better human beings is clear.

“They’re certainly entitled to think that, and they’re entitled to full respect for their opinions… but before I can live with other folks I’ve got to live with myself. The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.” ~ Harper Lee

In preparing a naked and honest expression of oneself for all the world can see, you must be at first be comfortable and respectful of yourself. What we choose to reveal in our words and actions will build a reputation, respect and trust over time, but an insincere expression that is false or intended maliciously, that potential for trust will be gone in a matter of seconds.

I am of the belief that once a trust has been broken, you can never fully regain its majesty for it will be tainted by a memory of that may follow you your entire life. So, from these past few days, weeks and months I have started with a clean sheet of paper and on this I will demand of myself a new and better person who reaches out with his heart to hopefully attract only those with very similar intentions.

My personal brand will be an exacting expression of who I am, what I think and feel and most importantly, how I am able and willing to serve my fellow-man will be expressed for all who are interested to see. Your comments are much appreciated…

15 thoughts on “The art of revealing yourself

  1. This is awesome Edward! I loved it! Very powerful and truly from who you really are! Thank you so much or sharing yourself with us !!! Cindy

  2. If you are able to reveal yourself in your writing, then people will get really get to know who you are, and decide whether they wish to form a connection, friendship, a relationship through your writing or not. That’s the chance you take when you put your “real self” out there, and hope that you can make a difference.

    1. the “real self” is what I am trying and learning to do – 2014 is looking good and my writing will continue in a more active way. Thanks for your comments and advice as they are much appreciated. Edward

  3. Wow I don’t think I could say what my Brand is as I always think I am changing. I agree with Greta as life is going way to fast for me to get into revealing my real self so I will look forward to reading about yours.

Leave a Reply

