A walk to remember

a path to the beachI love to walk at a fast pace or what’s even more rewarding is a long hike in nature, listening and watching for wildlife, breathing in the blissful aroma of the outdoors.

From time to time I am blessed with a partner, a friend who also enjoys a little exercise and the smell of flowers, the green of the trees and a chance to converse about life and our times while breaking a healthy, cleansing sweat.

One such beautiful afternoon I am reminded by the topic of a rather heated conversation, one filled with dismay, more than a little anger and what I understood later on this lively stroll was the very best medicine that could have been prescribed. The buried emotions and thoughts had been released in a torrent of expression that made the almost two hour walk seem like a few moments in time.

I am reminded by a favorite quote that has proved accurate and timely on more than one occasion.

“The truth will set you free, but first it will piss you off.” ~ Gloria Steinem.

This philosophy for dealing with our troubles and life challenges holds true in so many ways as my appreciation for a good walk in nature is replenished as I listen to my friend rant and rave about the past and it’s affect on her life today. What had been held within for far too long was being released one step at a time as the caged albatross was being liberated allowing for more freedom, happiness and even a little laughter.

She started off confused and hopefully later relieved that the day’s footsteps along a more positive path afforded a new and better understanding of the potential for life and love. I am more than a few years older and I have seen and lived more of life especially when it comes to personal trauma and having more relationships go down in flames due to the loss of trust and compassion. What walking does in my view, it allows one to unburden our thoughts undaunted, especially when someone is there beside you to listen and understand.

“If the world were merely seductive, that would be easy. If it were merely challenging, that would be no problem. But I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.” ~ E. B. White

As of this afternoon, I am back in the affirmative mode of enjoying this process on a daily basis and I hope to have others join me while we toss off the encumbrances that are holding us back from living a better, more fulfilling life. Enjoyment of our gifts and our fabulous friendships must and should be more of an aspiration and walking on the earth provides an access point to ourselves.

So, there are life struggles and there are things that come up that muck up the deep desire to learn and grow, I must concoct a method of inspiring others to understand and appreciate that walking in nature wether it be at a park, a wildlife sanctuary, on the beach, the near by hills or even at the mall must become an important part of a healthy life. My aging knees prevent me from running for too many miles and I pay the price for more than a few days afterwards, however a regular five-mile, spirited walk with a special friend I find that there nothing is more invigorating and enjoyable.

Step out in some comfortable shoes and take it a step at a time, don’t worry about anything other than filling your senses with joy and appreciation. With each new day and each new walk in nature I can assure you that your troubles will be lessened and your spirit revived.

“Love is like the wind, you can’t see it but you can feel it.”Nicholas Sparks

4 thoughts on “A walk to remember

  1. I can identify totally! Getting out every day in nature melts away all sorts of anguish. When I hear the birds singing I am uplifted. Running helps inspire and energize me. I am awakened to new and brighter thoughts and ideas. I am able to share stories with folks who take the same daily path and it is enlightening to engage with them.

    1. Couldn’t agree more guys! I loathe the feeling when I have not broken out into the world and walked through it’s beauty – it is truly a healing and inspiring experience. Absolutely love to say hello to strangers while out and about getting them to smile and raise their heads to respond I think helps them get out of their heads a little more and back into nature – winning!

Leave a Reply

