The best reason to care

airstream christmasI have found that true friendship is not as hard to come by as was once thought. With several major changes made during this past year I have discovered many new, important and sincere friendships in and around my new home.

Feeling so very fortunate with new, professional connections that I now consider great friends and even a few personal connections that I am quite amazed by as well. The secret to my success you might be asking yourself? Well it’s simple really, I am friendly, I am open, I am learning to listen better and I am of the opinion that in order to add new friends, you must at first politely, slowly and carefully earn their trust.

“Sharing is caring” came from my kid’s early days of elementary school and I now have chosen to incorporate this mantra by employing my being friendly, helpful, considerate and welcoming into my adult life more and more often. You may think it a bit silly that a grown man would venture out into the world with the appreciative mindset of a first grader. I can assure you that if you offer a hand of compassion and the heart of a concerned soul, people may actually respond in kind and maybe even like you – though cautiously at first.

Consider these wise words from Sam Levenson ~

For Attractive lips, speak words of kindness.
For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.
For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.
For beautiful hair, let a child run their fingers through it once a day.
For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone. 
People, more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed. Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms.
As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself and the other for helping others.

The open, compassionate endeavors of those who are indeed at ease with themselves and interested in the well-being of others are the ones to hold close. You typically meet and get to know these gems of humanity by offering your assistance with little or no concern for payback or reward. The “pay it forward” theme comes to mind in that karma or “blessings to come” are held for those who typically never walk alone.

The expression “dare to be” comes to mind as I think about all of the friends and family I have been blessed with my many years. To look back fondly upon those who have learned from their experiences that caring and giving are the most important things in life brings deeper feelings of joy.

Christmas is a time of giving and good cheer has always been expressed in song, bright decorations, families getting together for holidays meals, special pastries and candies, holiday parties and even special holiday cocktails. That being said, it is not simply a special time of giving, but a feeling that I feel we should be carry throughout the entire year.

I am wondering why it is not and am a bit confused as to how we can pack so much into 31 days leaving 334 to pale in comparison. Do we only have enough good cheer stored up in our joyful selves to last through the month of December?

“Our true friends are those who are with us when the good things happen. They cheer us on and are pleased by our triumphs. False friends only appear at difficult times, with their sad, supportive faces, when, in fact, our suffering is serving to console them for their miserable lives.” ~ Paulo Coelho

True friends as it has been expressed here are those to hold near and dear, to support at any time we are needed and really, really true friends have a way of simply knowing when we are sad, in need or feeling melancholy. What I am understanding more about deep friendship is that our cheery disposition, our honest concern and intent listening skills will actually promote a special, super power to understand our good friends better and more compassionately.

I am thinking about writing a stern letter to the powers that be, strongly suggesting that we carry the holiday spirit throughout the entire year, with maybe a few weeks off during the summer to relax. Who is with me?

6 thoughts on “The best reason to care

  1. I notice that my friends change over time. When my husband and I were newlyweds, we similarly had friends who were newlyweds at the time. As time went on and half of our friends divorced, we stopped spending time with them. After all, their conversations were about complaints about their spouses and ours were not. So, we didn’t have anything in common. Then, we have friends that have children, about the same age, mostly daughters just like us. I don’t know how that evolved but I guess over time, the friends with sons, just didn’t spend time with us because their sons probably didn’t want to and since most of our gatherings are family affairs, perhaps the parents didn’t want to show up without their family in tow. It’s interesting how times change and friends along with it.

    1. Thanks Sinnary – Friends do change over time and I too have seen how different friends and groups of friends evolve with children, divorce, career change, etc. I think that life has a way of offering us opportunities to meet and make new friends based on our own positive path and direction. I am empowered by the entrepreneurial spirit here in OC and the friends I have made here are fabulous. Good thing we can always make great friends on the gold course right? Thanks for your blog and your comments. Edw.

  2. In the day and age of immediate gratification the art of friendship has, to a certain extent, been lost! I agree, the goodwill expressed in November and December should be carried all year through!

    1. Friendship and the attraction of new friends confounds so many of us, I am annoyingly friendly and even that perturbs some cranky types. I have found that the very best way to gain someone’s acceptance is via our open willingness to care. I am a huge fan of the Christmas season and the joy that fills the air, however I am not a fan of any need or association to shop and buy gifts. Love is free to give and I for one and handing it out in buckets as of late. Thanks Nikki

  3. Agreed! The Christmas spirit of love, compassion, giving should be a mantra carried forth 365 days a year. Let’s raise a glass of good cheer to make that a part of our New Year’s resolutions for 2013…and promise that we won’t break them on January 2, 2013 and beyond!

Leave a Reply

