Why not write?

freedomHave you allowed yourself to connect to a deeper and more compassionate side of yourself through a blog challenge, a story writing group or through the collaboration with friends who are also inspired by a search of their true heart and soul through writing?

I am wondering why and actually even a little angry it took me so long to connect with these feelings and experiences I now find so very wondrous.

I am here to profess that you too need get started as soon as possible.

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.” ~ Ernest Hemingway

We all have stories to tell, experiences to share, recoveries from trauma to expose and victories to declare and I am damn certain that we all have a voice. I am here to attest that your inner author can be connected with for a wondrous feeling of self accomplishment via the benefits brought through soul searching and idea mining. Once the ball is rolling and you connect with and release all those silly reasons “why not” you will understand better what I am referring to here.

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” ~ Toni Morrison

The why to write falls away rather quickly and you are caught up in a passion to not only put words on paper, but to examine yourself in ways that are fresh, completely new for some and while getting in tune with who we are. The process of getting stuff out of your brain is where the enlightenment starts, this is where you will connect and discover your desire to expose and release.

And don’t ever edit as you are writing for it will stop your flow of ideas, and never, ever worry about anything you create being perfect.

“But I am learning that perfection isn’t what matters. In fact, it’s the very thing that can destroy you if you let it.” ~ Emily Griffin

This amazing process of writing is fascinating and it will indeed be a journey of self discovery, remember these words when you have doubts about yourself – “The only way there is through.” If you understand and believe in this, you are half way there. Insert into your belief system the phrase “Why Not” and understand that you are simply and completely enough and that you do have the ability to accomplish this.

“The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.” ~ Mark Twain

The process of overcoming the limitations associated with our limiting beliefs is that this evolution will indeed be beneficial to your happiness and well being. When we sit down to write, the first few sentences and paragraphs will most likely be crap, but what you are doing is that you must at first prime the pump. Allowing for the good stuff to come up and a clarity in our procedure will allow for many more wonderful thoughts and ideas to flow as you continue.

“When you stop expecting people to be perfect, you can like them for who they are.” ~ Donald Miller

Don’t judge yourself yourself and think of this writing process as something that you will benefit from, create a schedule for writing and stick to it. I began my writing “experiment” as a simple challenge to myself as I felt that I had so much to share.

What I discovered however, was a path way to a better understanding of me and with each new post or book page written, I have indeed stumbled upon a new and refreshing source of happiness.

Not that I get all that many followers, or comments or likes, but then again, I am doing this for myself and those who have commented or liked what I have written have provided so much more than smiles. The attraction of like minded people with similar interests and passions is by far the very best thing about sticking your toe into such amazing creative waters.

“The only way of discovering the limits of the possible is to venture a little way past them into the impossible.” ~ Arthur C. Clarke

I cannot tell you how happy I am that I have indeed started to think of myself as a writer.

8 thoughts on “Why not write?

  1. I love your writing, how you tie in the quotes to emphasize your story makes me look at the quote in a whole different light! I am glad that you share your voice! Thank you!

    1. Thank you sooo much Nikki – I have now discovered, well admitted to this being my true passion. I cannot learn enough or write enough fast enough and I am a little overwhelmed by inspiration. Thanks again for your kind words and keep on writing, I love your posts… Edw.

  2. I have a friend who started a local meetup for a group of women who wanted to journal. She mentioned it to me and I just couldn’t get myself to join because I dreaded the thought of having to hand write more than one paragraph of anything. My wrists and the handwritten word just don’t work. But, blogging and writing through my computer, that I can do. And, I’m enjoying it very much. I hope more people pick up the habit and share. We all become a part of history.

    1. I love to journal, but do it in Evernote now. I had stacks of journals from when I was recovering from divorce and I honestly a little afraid to read them as I know I was pissed. The amazing new communication tools provided by blogging have inspired me to do so much more with my writing. Thank you for your kind words, comments and your excellent posts as well. Edw.

    2. I know exactly what you mean. I have been using the computer for so long that when I do try to hand write something, my hand cramps up. Plus when typing I am much faster so I don’t lose a beat! Keep it up, it is a great way to release resistance and become closer to your inner-being!

      1. I have lost or thrown away all of my hand written journals explaining my past – I am loving this education of myself through writing at my trusty MacBook – I am also using Evernote more to keep track of the ramblings and ideas of my inner being.

  3. You can certainly make someone smile! I love writing and like you said, it doesn’t matter who likes it or who doesn’t. What matters is that it is a part of you and that you are enjoying it! My best writings, and I am still “getting better” are the ones when I have an inspired thought, sit down, and just let it roll. I don’t even think twice about whether or not it is being written “correctly”, I just write and that is what I love to do!

    1. Cindy – It is my most sincere desire to bring smiles, giggles and laughter to others who need it most through my writing. I do simply let it flow and this practice has made a world of difference in my inspiration to make time to write more. Thank you for your wonderful comments. The heck with doing it right or having it be perfect in some way, just let it roll… Edw.

Leave a Reply

