A connection with community

Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu
Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu

“I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.” ~ Mother Teresa

At the very least, blogging is half about writing and half about reading, commenting and understanding. The journey that writing provides us as individual minds and hearts, tethers us to a sensitivity to others who have a need or an inspiration to write as well.

I relish these times in the early morning when I am full of ideas, inspirations and feelings – but then again, at this point in my blogging career, I am doing this for myself and I firmly and passionately think of my experiences here as my continuing education.

With the help of some very special friends, one amazingly talented fellow blogger in particular, I have indeed started on a new journey and one that I am quite proud of for it has taken me years and years to break free of my fear of writing. From their support, their accolades and their love I am feeling much better about what I write and why.

It’s part of me now and a more important part than I may ever be able to create enough stories and content to explain, it has been movement of the earth within me and I am forever changed. The allowance, the gift if you will that I now give to myself on a daily basis has opened so many new doors of thought and of a better acceptance of who I am and where I am going.

A series of questions, if not doubt based emotions about writing on a daily basis, without breaks or excuses have recently held me at bay, just for a moment or two, but still they are staring me in the face of connecting with my impending creativity. Am I writing for myself, for others, eventually for making money, or is it simply a way of sticking my neck out and into life a little farther?

I am quite amazed really that anyone would want to read this stuff, for I feel it is more a rant of my own thoughts and feelings than anything of an offering to others. In saying this I now more clearly see that I am indeed writing for myself, yet I am getting better and more comfortable and I have far more to say in these words than I would have ever thought.

Sharing comes to mind and this process of blogging like I have mentioned above, is as much if not more about reading, commenting and interacting as it is about writing. The ideas and the nudges and the pokes that I derive from comments on my own posts are fabulous and I actually welcome negative comments as much as I do positive.

For I am learning and I have fallen in love with the dream of communicating with others through my writing and blogging.

What is important for me too is that I am becoming part of a community, a neighborhood of bloggers, some who I share views with and others I don’t. But, I am a beginner and what makes me quite joyful is the assumption that I can only get better. It must be done on a daily basis however, for I understand much more clearly now that even a single day without writing something I regret and feel a little angst or loss.

“I wondered what happened when you offered yourself to someone, and they opened you, only to discover you were not the gift they expected and they had to smile and nod and say thank you all the same.”Jodi Picoult (My Sister’s Keeper)

The deep, passionate feelings and thoughts I feel compelling me to write more have provided so many wondrous levels of appreciation and pride for myself for doing so. My very few readers have been awesome and I need to thank you all personally if I have not already done so. My expansion into the different levels of successful blogging depend on my receiving comments regardless if they are harsh or helpful.

I believe deeply that our efforts to comments on other’s posts makes us better human beings and the lessons learned from reading and posting comments is simply a way of expressing our respect and gratitude.

My simple message here today is to say thank you to all those blogs I read and to apologize for falling behind in my comments and snarky digs in appreciation. I am on a roll again and I promise to catch up, but the real message is to all those who have not posted anything in a long while.

Get back at it and give yourself the gift of writing!

Make the time to learn and grow from your writing! Rest assured that I will do my best to read what you have written and send you a short comment and a sincere “thank you for sharing!”

3 thoughts on “A connection with community

  1. This is so on point for me as I feel the same way you do however I have been an epilic fail this month to get back on the blogging horse and write again. I blame it on the holidays but really need to make the time to do it!! It has been a great learning process for me too and I look forward to learning more.

    1. Accepting two blog challenges now that include two important holidays filled with family and friends, I have struggled as well. I believe in this transformation and in the powers instilled in the quest to write and to hopefully write every single day. It is part of who we are and the very best to you in getting back into the swing of things in 2013. Thanks again for your comments.

Leave a Reply

