A feast of days

celebrationOnly a few hours left in a wondrous year of so much life, growth and laughter. I hesitate to live this last day of 2012 with languished gratitude as I am inspired to instead pay tribute to the year in a life more well lived.

Rest assured that I won’t be celebrating the new year by being inebriated either, my clear and focused mind will be too filled with joy and new understanding for that. Well, maybe just one…

“Wisely and slow, they stumble who run fast.” ~ William Shakespeare (from Romeo and Juliet)

The celebration on the very last night of an outgoing year has always been a semi uneventful evening for me. I believe that I’ve attempted to dance or stumble through this past celebrations while openly and publicly ringing in a new life, new focus with new energy. This year is far different and it seems so much more distinctive with the only obvious reason being that I am much more thankful this time around.

These past several months have brought so very much progress, countless feelings of happiness and quite simply a reawakening to a man of 58 years. A most measurable gain in understanding and appreciation is due primarily on two factors – forgiveness and gratitude and how I have chosen to express these via a personal blog.

I was able to emerge from and forgive many occurrences and tribulations, some by openly discussing them with unique and very special new friends. There were those other pesky feelings I knew were holding me back and flushing them out has allowed for new freedom. I followed a semi ritualistic procedure recommended by a life long confidant who is far more wise than she will admit when it comes to all things spiritual.

“I learned this, at least, by my experiment: that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.” Henry David Thoreau

I have written down all the things that were bothering me about nearly any situation, any person, or painful life event that had a hold on my heart. Written neatly and deliberately on a piece of paper I included as much detail of my frustration as possible and with a very vocal fond farewell, I burnt these toxic pages of rant and impetuous rage. I immediately felt a release…

For anyone to truly and completely move on, there is this annoying requirement that you let the painful past go and in understanding and feeling strongly the forces of restraint leaving your soul. Allowing for a healthier view of our potential for happiness can be hidden, withdrawn from view by the control of others or simply missed while we meander down our taciturn path.

“Continuous effort – not strength or intelligence – is the key to unlocking our potential.” Winston S. Churchill

These coming days are so filled with promise of a new year, a limitless potential of opportunity and of many welcome challenges with an assurance of much work to do. May the wonders never cease as we welcome the journey in life that brings smiles and much more laughter. If you have only one resolution to hold dear – focus on making a decision, to be earnest in your resolve to truly live life and not hold back.

Resolve = to come to a definite or earnest decision about; determine (to do something): I have resolved that I shall live to the full.

For all that can be I am more delighted that a love for true happiness is now seen in a new light with new and more passionate appreciation for all the blessings and the wondrous friends I now hold dear. Inspired to learn, live and grow with a renewed attitude that will keep my head up and my eyes open. The sky is not the limit, it is merely a lofty goal that can and will be achieved.

The Past: When you clear it up, you are free. You no longer carry baggage with you. Do it. It’s worth it.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

