Transition to…

breaking freeI am uncertain where the term or practice of “multi-tasking” originated from, but I am quite certain that is hasn’t made its way to rural, central New Mexico.

Thank goodness! For this remote location filled with its natural beauty, blankets of stars in the night sky and a truly amazing silence. All offering a connection with the earth as there is an enchantment here offering a refuge for my discovery and perfect for uncovering my creativity.

“Everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ~ Sylvia Plath

My new life here is one of much calm, renewed inspiration and unique opportunity, to gather and evaluate my thoughts which have me wondering why I was so strongly drawn to Orange County and all of the conveniences. I am reminded more strongly than ever before as I sit here some 1,000 miles away in a community of less than 1,000 souls that it was obviously the opportunity to connect with a very special group of people and to meet great new friends.

Having done a little exploring of my new surroundings this past weekend, and now living in this historic hotel, my appreciation for the simpler, rural life continues. I suppose it would be far different if I were raising a family or trying to make a significant mark on urban society, but for now I am enjoying immensely being alone and becoming much more aware of who I am.

“We live as we dream ~ alone….” ~ Joseph Conrad

What I have discovered and what makes the most significant impact on my daily thoughts is my aspiration to connect with a creative life and what is so obvious a spiritual journey. My connection with this inclination brings with it a clearing of my consciousness as it begins with writing each morning allowing for a deeper appreciation of caring for the diversity of mankind and enhancing my kindness towards humanity.

Having lived the majority of my life in a pristine, coastal location which many consider as one of the most beautiful places on earth, this privileged life allows a fortunate appreciation of the beauty in the most remote and rural landscapes. This is a much more diverse lanscape than I could have ever imagined.

The true and primary reason for my decision to pursue a new life in New Mexico is most clearly due to my desire to discover and uncover my creativity, as my remote wanderings and fresh connection with life here are what I have been dreaming of.

wanderingsMy experiences being constantly reevaluated prove that I was in a sense lost and had disconnected myself from any interest in the creative source. My faith in this journey of adventure will indeed awaken my curious soul.

I had become a man who had singularly been quieted, drawn towards responsibility and what others were telling me was the very best I could do.

Had I sabotaged myself by listening and believing what others had decided was in fact a representation of their path in life? I fear that I had been wasting my time listening to the wrong advice and have just recently rediscovered an energy within.

I have been handed the key to my own distinct world, a new life of disconnection and what I better see now as a reconnection with my creative self.

It is within the walks and wanderings that I have clarified that with each new step I am shown a path of almost magical awakening. With this first week in my new world I am beginning an education of the one person I had been avoiding.

What I now know as the most positive step I’ve taken in years, now much more responsive to a limiutless inspiration. It didn’t matter where or when I began to write, it was after all just a beginning and continuing with my dreams to communicate was far more important.

Steady and prodigious was the secret as with each new phase I uncover, a fresh understanding and even more importantly, an opportunity to believe comfortably in knowing that I am in no way alone. I feel an energy in actively listening to the earth and simply offering an out stretched hand in a welcoming gesture hoping to connect with my quest for a creative path.

Connectivity of nature and creativity is the freedom I seek and there is so much spiritual energy here allowing for a liberty for a deeper connection with oneself, as a preservation I find quite compelling to be, do and change.

“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.” ~ J.R.R. Tolkien

One thought on “Transition to…

Leave a Reply

