never ending possibilities

A garden walkAt this particular juncture in my precarious, yet inspired journey I have a new mission.

As I better understanding who I really am and what essentially drives me forward, the where I am decisively headed clears the morning fog.

It is held within my words and thoughts to only myself only that I find direction and clarity in my wanderings.

“Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.” ~ Miguel Ruiz

I have learned one very important lesson in these past few years when I was thrown into unemployment, gifted with caring for aging parents and learning all about rejection in the career search world as being over qualified or limited by financial troubles of my recent past.

It truly is all about a connection with the world and most significantly with people from every corner of our earth. Being allowed to communicate and release my desire to interact and cajole with customers, I have found my heart in hospitality and making certain that those I come in contact with have a wonderful experience and a better day.

My enlightenment comes from time alone, being on the road and being given the opportunity to connect with countless strangers and customers. My recent experiences have provided the blissful experience of meeting and becoming friends with the lost, the poor, the angry, the hurt, the ashamed, the addicted and the remorseful.

I have met many genuine characters from all walks of life, all with amazing life histories, many of whom are running from their past with little or no vision of where they are going.

being alone“I think it’s good for a person to spend time alone. It gives them an opportunity to discover who they are and to figure out why they are always alone.”  ~ Amy Sedaris

Enter my amazing experience in the hospitality industry, of running a hotel and dining room where I have discovered that the general term of “hospitality” connects with much more than only accommodation, it is immersed in friendliness, companionship, generosity, entertainment, warmth and quite frequently – wine.

Many a solo traveler and I have spent nights sipping tea or pinot noir or bourbon into the late hours discussing life and it became very clear that all most people really need is someone to listen.

So, my plan is to talk less and listen more, appreciate more and . To appreciate more my opportunities and to view my gifts to make someone smile and enjoy their day just a little bit more. I have learned how to connect with people, even those who fear that connection and build friendships whether they are customers or random meetings on the streets of life.

Smile, listen, compliment and connect – this is my mission and I am loving it.

Leave a Reply

